List Of Bible Prophets In Chronological Order

The Prophets The Dates Bible History Kings and Events
Prophets of Israel
Jonah 810-790 BC 2 Kings 13-14 Jehoash, Jeroboam II (Amaziah)
Joel 790-760 BC 2 Kings 11-15 Uzziah
Amos 780-760 BC 2 Kings 14-15 Jeroboam II (Uzziah)
Hosea 785-725 BC 2 Kings 15-18 Jeroboam II to Hoshea (Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz)
Isaiah 750-695 BC 2 Kings 15-20 Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz, Hezekiah
Micah 745-725 BC 2 Kings 15 Jotham, Ahaz, Hezekiah
Prophets of Judah
Nahum 660-630 BC 2 Kings 15-18 Manasseh, Amon, Josiah
Zephaniah 630-620 BC Isaiah 10 Josiah
Habakkuk 620-610 BC 2 Kings 23 Josiah, Jehoahaz
Jeremiah 628-588 BC 2 Kings 22-25 Josiah to Zedekiah. The Captivity
Prophets of the Captivity
Daniel 606-534 BC 2 Kings 23-25 The Captivity
(Reign of Nebuchadnezzar to Cyrus)
Obadiah 587 BC 2 Kings 25 After Jerusalem’s Destruction
(Reign of Nebuchadnezzar)
Ezekiel 596-574 BC 2 Kings 24 to the Jews Before and During the Captivity
(Reign of Nebuchadnezzar)
Prophets of the Return to Jerusalem
Haggai 520-518 BC Ezra 5-6 Rebuilding the Temple in Jerusalem
(Reign of Darius I)
Zechariah 520-510 BC Ezra 5-6 Rebuilding and Dedication of the Temple
(Reign of Darius I)
Malachi 420-397 BC Nehemiah 13 Second Reformation by Nehemiah
(Reign of Artaxerxes I)

List Of Bible Sins And Verses

List Of 3000 Promises In The Bible

List Of Books In The Ethiopian Bible

List Of Bible Books In Alphabetical Order


    • Elijah not mentioned probably because there is no biblical book of Elijah. Elisha, all the prophets of Judges, etc, not mentioned either.
      This list seems to be the chronological order of biblical book titled by the relevant prophet

  1. 1) Why have you left out Elijah?

    2) You’ve listed Isaiah as a prophet to Israel (i.e. the Northern Kingdom). He lived and prophesied in Judah, as your list clearly indicates. Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz and Hezekiah were all kings of Judah.

  2. Some people have had trouble remember dates and timelines. US History isn’t too hard when you remember that there was an election every four years. Given someone can start remembering and associating events with presidents, they may be able to remember the date.

    I started watching some Documentaries on the Assyrians and Parthians and so on, on Youtube. Taking some mental notes about what was going on in the world, and checking what was happening, at the time, in the Bible, is really interesting. I also found a game on steam called “Kings of Israel.” It is a board game someone made into a computer game. It is good for helping learn timelines and geography.

Leave a Reply