List of All Archbishops of Canterbury

The Archbishop of Canterbury Justin Welby gestures after being enthroned during a ceremony at Canterbury Cathedral, in Canterbury, southern England March 21, 2013.

The Archbishop of Canterbury is the “Primate of All England” (the “first bishop” of England), effectively serving as the head of the established Church of England and, symbolically, of the worldwide Anglican Communion.

Today the archbishop has four main roles:

  1. He is the diocesan bishop of the Diocese of Canterbury, which covers the east of the County of Kent and the extreme north-east of Surrey. Founded by Augustine of Canterbury in 597, it is the oldest bishopric in the English church. The main duties of this role are delegated to the suffragan Bishop of Dover (who in this capacity is called the “Bishop in Canterbury”).
  2.  He is the metropolitan bishop of the Province of Canterbury, encompassing 30 dioceses in the southern two-thirds of England. The remaining 14 dioceses in the north of England fall within the Province of York, under the authority of the Archbishop of York. Four dioceses in Wales were under the Province of Canterbury until they were transferred to the dis-established Church in Wales in 1920.
  3. As “Primate of All England”, he is the chief “religious” figure in the Church of England, whilst the British sovereign is the Supreme Governor of the Church of England.
  4. As symbolic head of the Anglican Communion, the archbishop is recognised as primus inter pares (“first among equals”) of all Anglican primates.

Justin Welby is the current and 105th Archbishop of Canterbury

List of Archbishops of Canterbury During The Anglo-Saxon period

Archbishops of Canterbury
Augustine (Austin) 597–604
Laurentius (Lawrence) 604–619
Mellitus 619–624
Justus 624–627
Honorius 627–653
Deusdedit 655–664
Theodore (Theodorus) 668–690
Berhtwald (Beorhtweald) 693–731
Tatwine 731–734
Nothelm 735–739
Cuthbert (Cuthbeorht) 740–760
Bregowine (Breguwine) 761–764
Jaenberht (Jaenbeorht) 765–792
Aethelheard 793–805
Wulfred 805–832
Feologild 832
Ceolnoth 833–870
Aethelred 870–889
Plegmund 890–914
Aethelhelm 914–923
Wulfhelm 923–942
Oda 942–958
Aelfsige 959
Beorhthelm 959
Dunstan 960–988
Aethelgar 988–990
Sigeric Serio 990–994
Aelfric 995–1005
Aelfheah 1005–12
Lyfing 1013–20
Aethelnoth 1020–38
Eadsige 1038–50
Robert of Jumièges 1051–52
Stigand 1052–70

List of Archbishops of Canterbury The After the Norman conquest

Lanfranc 1070–89
Anselm 1093–1109
Ralph d’Escures 1114–22
William of Corbeil 1123–36
Theobald 1138–61
Thomas Becket 1162–70
Richard of Dover 1174–84
Baldwin 1184–90
Hubert Walter 1193–1205
Stephen Langton 1206–28
Richard le Grant 1229–31
Edmund Rich 1233–40
Boniface of Savoy 1241–70
Robert Kilwardby 1272–78
John Pecham 1279–92
Robert Winchelsey 1293–1313
Walter Reynolds 1313–27
Simon Mepham 1327–33
John Stratford 1333–48
Thomas Bradwardine 1348–49
Simon Islip 1349–66
Simon Langham 1366–68
William Whittlesey 1368–74
Simon Sudbury 1375–81
William Courtenay 1381–96
Thomas Arundel 1396–97
Roger Walden 1397–99
Thomas Arundel (restored) 1399–1414
Henry Chichele 1414–43
John Stafford 1443–52
John Kempe 1452–54
Thomas Bourgchier 1454–86
John Morton 1486–1500
Henry Deane 1501–03
William Warham 1504–32
Thomas Cranmer 1533–56
Reginald Pole 1556–58
Matthew Parker 1559–75

List of Archbishops of Canterbury After the Elizabethan settlement

Edmund Grindal 1575–83
John Whitgift 1583–1604
Richard Bancroft 1604–10
George Abbot 1611–33
William Laud 1633–45
William Juxon 1660–63
Gilbert Sheldon 1663–77
William Sancroft 1677–90
John Tillotson 1691–94
Thomas Tenison 1694–1715
William Wake 1715–37
John Potter 1737–47
Thomas Herring 1747–57
Matthew Hutton 1757–58
Thomas Secker 1758–68
Frederick Cornwallis 1768–83
John Moore 1783–1805
Charles Manners Sutton 1805–28
William Howley 1828–48
John Bird Sumner 1848–62
Charles Thomas Longley 1862–68
Archibald Campbell Tait 1868–82
Edward White Benson 1883–96
Frederick Temple 1896–1902
Randall Thomas Davidson 1903–28
Cosmo Gordon Lang (from 1942, Baron Lang of Lambeth) 1928–42
William Temple 1942–44
Geoffrey Francis Fisher (from 1961, Baron Fisher of Lambeth) 1945–61
Arthur Michael Ramsey 1961–74
Frederick Donald Coggan 1974–80
Robert Alexander Kennedy Runcie 1980–91
George Carey 1991–2002
Rowan Williams 2002–12
Justin Welby 2013–

Leave a Reply