History Of The Apostolic Church Nigeria


The Apostolic Church Nigeria is a Christian church in Nigeria. It is one of the biggest churches in Nigeria with over 4.5million members and a National Temple that seats over 10,000 worshippers in a service.


The Apostolic Church Nigeria was borne out from the Apostolic Church of the United Kingdom through three Missionary delegates who arrived in Lagos, Nigeria on September 23, 1931; they were the late Pastors D.P. Williams (President), A. Turnbull (Vice-President), and W.J. Williams (International Prophet). Prior to their coming, a great revival started in the churches in fellowship with Faith Tabernacle Congregation of Nigeria which resulted to much persecutions in 1930.
In 1931, after exchange of doctrines and other fundamental scriptural truths between the missionaries and leaders of Faith Tabernacle Congregation of Nigeria, the leaders of the fellowship decided to affiliate with The Apostolic Church of the United Kingdom and adopted The Apostolic Church as a denominational name together with its principles and practices.

Doctrine And Belief

The Apostolic Church Nigeria is built on a fundamental doctrinal belief based on the Holy Scriptures. Its theological beliefs are summarised in its confession of faith, known as the Tenets, which read as follows:

The one true and living God who eternally exists in three persons in unity: Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

The inherent corruptness of man through the Fall; The necessity of repentance and regeneration by grace and through faith in Christ alone and the eternal separation from God of the finally unrepentant.

The Virgin birth, sinless life, atoning death, triumphant resurrection, ascension and continuing intercession of our Lord Jesus Christ; His second coming and millennial reign upon earth.

The Justification and sanctification of believers through the finished work of Christ.

The baptism of the Holy spirit for believers with supernatural signs, empowering the church for its mission in the world.

The gifts of the Holy Spirit for the building up of the Church and ministry to the world.

The Sacraments of Baptism by immersion and of the Lord’s Supper

The divine inspiration and authority of the Holy Scriptures.

Christ’s leadership of the Church through apostles, prophets, evangelists, pastors, teachers, elders and deacons, for unity, maturity and growth of the church.

The security of the believer as he remains in Christ

The privilege and responsibility of bringing tithes and offerings to the Lord.

The Constitution of the Apostolic Church in the United Kingdom states that “These Tenets shall forever be the doctrinal standard of the Apostolic Church and shall not be subject to change in any way whatsoever.”

Organization And administration

The Apostolic Church Nigeria which is administered as a single entity by the National Council is headed by a President. The current President is Pastor G.O. Olutola who succeeded Pastor E.E. Okon in 2011.

The church is categorized into five sections called fields with a view of bonding members in a spiritual and heallty fellowship. The fields include:

  • The Lagos and Western/Northern Areas Territory (LAWNA),
  • The Cross River State Field,
  • The Igbo Field,
  • The Maritime Field,The Akwa Ibom Field.

National Covention

The National Convention is a biannual gathering of all The Apostolic Church members at the National Temple, Lagos State, Nigeria.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here